Jump to Navigation

Surgery

Getting Started

If you are not sure what your topic is about, try one or more of the following:

Handbooks: 

Handbook of Pediatric Surgery

Handbook of Pediatric Surgery

Illustrative handbook of general surgery

Books

Alexander's care of the patient in surgery 14th ed 2011

Atlas of general surgical techniques 2010

Basic surgical techniques 6th ed 2010

Sabiston Textbook of surgery : the biological basis of modern surgical practice

Textbook of Surgery

Schwartz's Principles of Surgery 9th edition

Current diagnosis & treatment : surgery 13th edition

You can also browse the Catalogue, or the shelves at the following call numbers -
RD1 - 31 General Works
RD32 - 33 Operative Surgery
RD92 - 97 Emergency Surgery
RD118 - 120.5 Plastic Surgery
RD701 - 811 Orthopedic Surgery
RE1-994 Ophthalmology
RF1-547 Otorhinolaryngology
RK529-535 Oral Surgery

Journal Articles

For recent information, journal articles are often the best sources. Looking through individual journals in the hope of finding relevant material is time-consuming. It is better to use the databases to find articles on your topic.

Journal Articles: 

Ovid medline

MEDLINE is the U.S. National Library of Medicine's premier bibliographic database covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the preclinical sciences, health administration, and the health care system. Coverage is worldwide, but most records are from English-language sources or have English abstracts.bstracts to biomedical literature including research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and healthcare services. Medline is available from a number of gateways including PubMed from the National Library of Medicine.

An@tomy.tv

Contains complete anatomical 3D models from skin to bone for various body parts. Includes biomechanical animations, dynamic MRI, and movie clips to supplement the 3D model. Leading practitioners in each field provide explanations of the illustrations.

Web of Knowledge

ISI Web of Knowledge is a platform for searching individual ISI products or multiple products simultaneously. Access is to Web of Science, Current Contents Connect and ISI Journal Citation Reports....

EMBASE.com

EMBASE.com provides access to biomedical and pharmacological bibliographic records from EMBASE and MEDLINE (produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine). The database can be searched by field, drug, disease and article. Journal titles can also be browsed.

PubMed

PubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine, includes over 14 million citations for biomedical articles back to 1953 and provides citations and abstracts to biomedical literature including research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and healthcare services

ACS surgery online

ACS surgery online is a continually updated service where surgeons outline their preferred techniques for core general surgical procedures

Journals

Journals: 

American Journal of Surgery

Annals of Surgery

Highly ranked surgery journal

British Journal of Surgery

a highly ranked surgical journal from the British Journal of Surgery Society

A list of UQ Library surgery journals

Specialised Resources

Specialised Resources: 

ACS surgery : principles & practice

ACS Surgery is the official reference of general surgery of the American College of Surgeons

Surgical Clinics of North America

Statistics

Statistics: 

Web Sites

Web Sites: 

American College of Surgeons

Australian Society of Plastic Surgeons

eMedicine

General Surgeons Australia

With the support of the Royal Australasian College of Surgeons (RACS) Council, GSA was formed as an independent association that would assume the functions of the RACS Division of General Surgery, as they relate to the practice of Specialist General Surgery in Australia.

Royal Australasian College of Surgeons