Social Work and Social Policy
Getting Started
If you are not sure what your topic is about, try one or more of the following:
The Australian policy handbook
Comprehensive handbook of social work and social welfare
The handbook of human services management
Browsing the shelves
You can also browse the catalogue or the shelves at the following call numbers:-
HM461-473 Schools of sociology. Schools of social thought
HM481-554 Theory. Method. Relations to other subjects
HQ1-2044 The Family. Marriage. Women
HT51-1595 Communities. Classes. Races
HV1-9960 Social pathology. Social and public welfare. Criminology.
HV40-69 Social service. Social work
JF20-2112 Political institutions and public administration (General)
JQ21 6651 Political institutions and public administration (Australia
etc.)
Journal Articles
For recent information, journal articles are often the best sources. Looking through individual journals in the hope of finding relevant material is time-consuming. It is better to use the databases to find articles on your topic.
APA-FT (Australian Public Affairs) - is an indexing & full text database that provides Internet access to the scanned images of journal articles from published material on the social sciences & humanities.
PsycINFO - access to international literature in psychology & related disciplines, including social work.
Scopus- a multidisciplinary abstract & citation database of research literature & quality web sources. Subject coverage includes chemistry, physics, mathematics, engineering, life & health sciences, psychology, economics, social sciences, biological & agricultural sciences.
Social policy research paper online- access to a series of monographs from the Department of Families, Housing, Community Services and Indigenous Affairs (Australia).
Social Services Abstracts - provides bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, & community development.
Sociological Abstracts - abstracts & indexes literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social & behavioral sciences.
Web of Science - provides access to current & retrospective multidisciplinary information from high impact research journals. Covers social sciences, arts, science & humanities plus conference proceedings citation indices.
Specialised Resources
Statistics
Web Sites
Australian Council of Social Service
Australian Clearinghouse for Youth Studies
Australian Council of Social Service
Australia. Department of Families, Housing, Community Services & Indigenous Affairs
Australian Institute of Family Studies
Australian Insititute of Health & Welfare
Mental Health Council of Australia


Loading