Psychology
- Getting Started
- Evaluation
- Journal Articles
- Multimedia
- Secondary Materials
- Specialised Resources
- Statistics
- Web Sites
- What's New
Getting Started
If you are not sure what your topic is about, try one or more of the following:
Browsing the shelves
You can also browse the catalogue or the shelves at the following call numbers:-
- BF Psychology
- BF176 Psychological testing
- HM251-291 Social psychology
- HM1041-1101 Social perception. Social cognition Including perception of the self and others, prejudices, stereotype
- HM1106-1171 Interpersonal relations. Social behavior
- LB Educational psychology
- QP351-495 Neurophysiology and neuropsychology
- RC467 Clinical psychology
- RC512-569.5 Psychopathology
- RC512-528 Psychoses
- RC530-552 Neuroses
- RC554-569.5 Personality disorders. Behavior problems including sexual problems, drug abuse, suicide, child abuse
- RC475-489 Therapeutics. Psychotherapy
- RC500-510 Psychoanalysis
- RC512-569.5 Psychopathology
- RA1148 & HV6080 Forensic psychology
Evaluation
DSM-IV-TR (Diagnostic & statistical manual of mental disorders)
Mental measurements yearbook - comprehensive guide to over 2,000 contemporary testing instruments.
Test critiques - evaluation of psychological & educational tests & measurements.
Directory of unpublished experimental mental measures. Journal published by the APA.
Check out the "how to" guide on Psychological and Educational Tests (need link here)
Journal Articles
For recent information, journal articles are often the best sources. Looking through individual journals in the hope of finding relevant material is time-consuming. It is better to use the databases to find articles on your topic.
PsycINFO - journals, books & book chapters, reports, theses & dissertations in psychology & related fields.
PsycArticles - journals published by the APA, Canadian Psychological Association plus Hogrefe & Huber Publishers.
Scopus - abstracting database covering scientific, technical, medical & the social sciences.
Web of Knowledge - includes Current Contents - ranging from social & behavioural sciences, life sciences, arts & humanities
Informit Complete - set of Australian databases including Australasian Medical Index (AMI), A+Education (AEI), Health & Society, APAIS-Health, Health Collection & more.
MEDLINEplus - specialising in medical diseases & conditions, non/ & prescription drugs, medical encyclopaedias & dictionaries & links to clinical trials.
ERIC - from the U.S. Dept. of Education specialising in education literature.
Cochrane Library - informaion on the effects of interventions in health care, designed to provide information and evidence to support decisions taken in health care and to inform those receiving care.
BMJ Clinical evidence - directory of evidence on the effects of common clinical interventions
Multimedia
Counseling and therapy in video. Vol I - online collection of videos for the study of social work, psychotherapy, psychology, and psychiatric counseling.
Counseling and therapy in video. Vol II - more videos on the study of social work, psychotherapy, psychology, and psychiatric counseling.
Psyche visual online
videos - a library of video and multimedia presentations on aspects of
psychology, psychiatry and mental health care.
Counseling and
psychotherapy : transcripts, client narratives and reference works.
Transcripts of actual therapy sessions, together with client narratives and
major reference works. There are diaries, letters, autobiographies, oral
histories, and personal memoirs along with the full text of therapy and
counseling sessions themselves.
Secondary Materials
Specialised Resources
Ebooks available at:-
PsycBOOKs - full-text collection of titles published by the APA(American Psychological Association).
Psychiatry Online - books, journals & multimedia on psychiatry, mental health & behavioural sciences from APPI (American Psychiatric Publishing, Inc.).
Statistics
SPSS for starters (introduction to the statistical package for social scientists).
Zentralblatt MATH - from the European Mathematical Society, includes applications for psychology.
Web Sites
Professional organizations
Australian Psychological Society
Australian Clinical Psychology Association
American Psychology Association
Association for Psychological Science
General websites
CRUfAD Mental Health (formerly Climate Mental Health)
What's New
Health Sciences Blog - keep up to date with UQ Library developments in the Health Sciences.


Loading