Neurosciences
Getting Started
If you are not sure what your topic is about, try one or more of the following:
Encyclopedia of the human brain
The Gale encyclopedia of neurological disorders
The senses : a comprehensive reference
Encyclopedia of biological, physiological and health sciences
Use the Keyword search in the Library's Catalogue. You can search using words like - neuroscience; neuropharmacology; neurology; nervous system.
You can also browse the Catalogue, or the shelves at the following call
numbers -
QP351-495 Neurosciences, Neurophysiology and
Neuropsychology
RM Neuropharmacology
QM Neuroanatomy
RD Neurosurgery
Current protocols in neuroscience
Provides a search and retrieval interface to laboratory manuals considered to be the benchmark standard for scientific research methods in neuroscience.
Journal Articles
For recent information, journal articles are often the best sources. Looking through individual journals in the hope of finding relevant material is time-consuming. It is better to use the databases to find articles on your topic.
Useful databases to search for journal articles:
1. PubMed
Includes citations and abstracts to biomedical literature. PubMed help and information
Provides access to multidisciplinary information from high impact research journals.
3. EMBASE.com
Provides access to biomedical and pharmacological bibliographic records.
A comprehensive database for life science and biomedical research.
5. PsychINFO
The database includes literature from an array of disciplines related to psychology such as psychiatry, education, business, medicine, nursing, pharmacology, law, linguistics, and social work.
6. Scopus
Scopus is a multidisciplinary abstract and citation database of research
literature and quality web sources.
Specialised Resources
Neuroscience Information Framework
A dynamic inventory of web-based neurosciences data, resources, and tools that scientists and students can access via the Web. An initiative of the NIH Blueprint for Neuroscience Research, the Neuroscience Information Framework will advance neuroscience research by enabling discovery and access to public research data and tools worldwide through an open source, networked environment.
Still and moving images form an atlas of the human brain in health and disease.
A growing collection of online public resources integrating extensive gene expression and neuroanatomical data, complete with a novel suite of search and viewing tools.
Web Sites
Attempts to list the best neuroscience resources on the Web.
National Institute of Neurological Disorders & Stroke
Science for the Brain: The United States' leading supporter of biomedical research on disorders of the brain and nervous system.
BrainWeb provides information and links to validated sites about brain diseases and disorders.
Neurological Disorder Resources
Australian Neuroscience Society
International Brain Research Organization
The Royal Society has established a science policy centre to strengthen the independent voice of science in UK, European and international policy.Brain Waves is a current project and will explore the potential and the limitations of neuroscience insights for policymaking, as well as the benefits and the risks posed by applications of neuroscience and neurotechnologies.


Loading