Midwifery
Getting Started
If you are not sure what your topic is about, try one or more of the following:
Clinical Practice
Journal Articles
For recent information, journal articles are often the best sources. Looking through individual journals in the hope of finding relevant material is time-consuming. It is better to use the databases to find articles on your topic.
Maternity and infant care - a resource from MIDIRS for academics and healthcare professionals involved in the care of women and infants. The database covers international English language journals, books, and grey literature relating to the midwifery profession, pregnancy, labour, birth, postnatal care, and neonatal care and the first year of an infants life.
CINAHL - Contains citations with abstracts to articles published in nursing and allied health journals. Also covers relevant materials from biomedicine, management, behavioural sciences, health sciences librarianship, education, and consumer health.
ScienceDirect - Scientific, technological and medical full text and bibliographic information published by Elsevier Science and its various imprints, including Academic Press and the Harcourt Health Sciences group. The University of Queensland subscribes to the ScienceDirect Freedom Collection, and has also purchased several backfiles, as well as other journals, various ebook series and reference works.
PubMed - a service of the National Library of Medicine was developed by the National Center for Biotechnology Information. It includes citations for biomedical articles and provides citations and abstracts to biomedical literature including research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and healthcare services.
Statistics
Australian Bureau of Statistics - Good source of Australian demographic information
Australian Institute of Health and Welfare (AIHW) - Australia's national agency for health and welfare, statistics and information
World Health Organization - International health statistics and comparisons


Loading