- Getting Started
- Clinical Practice
- Evidence Based Practice
- Journal Articles
- Secondary Materials
- Specialised Resources
- Web Sites
If you are not sure what your topic is about, try one or more of the following:
The Gale encyclopedia of mental disorders 2003 edited by Ellen Thackery and Madeline Harris
Assessment and therapy resource : specialty articles from The Encyclopedia of mental health / editor-in-chief, Howard S. Friedman
Mental Health - my virtual encyclopedia (US) resource
The SAGE handbook of mental health and illness 2011 resource
The mental health handbook : a cognitive behavioural approach 3rd edition 2009 by Trevor Powell.
Grief counseling and grief therapy : a handbook for the mental health practitioner 4th ed 2009 by J. William Worden
Oxford handbook of mental health nursing 2006 edited by Patrick Callaghan, Helen Waldock.
Handbook of complementary and alternative therapies in mental health 2002 edited by Scott Shannon.
DSM IV TR online
Campbell's psychiatric dictionary 2004 by Robert Jean Campbell
The language of mental health : a glossary of psychiatric terms 2011 by Narriman C. Shahrokh ... al.
Evidence Based Practice
BMJ Best Practice - Database
In a single source BMJ has combined the latest research evidence, guidelines and expert opinion - presented in a step-by-step approach, covering prevention, diagnosis, treatment and prognosis. Best Practice provides a second opinion in an instant, without the need for checking multiple resources. At its core, Best Practice contains the BMJ's Clinical Evidence
Cochrane Library - information on the effects of interventions in health care, designed to provide information and evidence to support decisions taken in health care and to inform those receiving care.
Evidence-based mental health (e journal)
Evidence-based mental health care by Simon Hatcher, Rob Butler, Mark Oakley-Browne.
For recent information, journal articles are often the best sources. Looking through individual journals in the hope of finding relevant material is time-consuming. It is better to use the databases to find articles on your topic.
PsycINFO - Journals, books & book chapters, reports, theses & dissertations in psychology & related fields.
PsycArticles - Journals published by the APA, Canadian Psychological Association plus Hogrefe & Huber Publishers.
BMJ Clinical evidence - Directory of evidence on the effects of common clinical interventions
Cochrane Library - Information on the effects of interventions in health care, designed to provide information and evidence to support decisions taken in health care and to inform those receiving care.
CINAHL - Contains citations with abstracts to articles published in nursing and allied health journals.
Embase.com - A database which provides access to the biomedical literature with over 2,000 biomedical titles not currently offered by MEDLINE.
Informit Collections - Set of Australian databases including Australasian Medical Index (AMI), A+Education (AEI), Health & Society, APAIS-Health, Health Collection & more.
Medline - Ovid version of Medline. Provides citations and abstracts to biomedical literature including research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and healthcare services
MEDLINEplus - Specialising in medical diseases & conditions, non/ & prescription drugs, medical encyclopaedias & dictionaries & links to clinical trials.
PubMed - PubMed comprises over 20 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. PubMed citations and abstracts include the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and preclinical sciences.
Scopus - Abstracting database covering scientific, technical, medical & the social sciences.
Web of Knowledge - Includes Current Contents - ranging from social & behavioural sciences, life sciences, arts & humanities
Australian and New Zealand journal of psychiatry - Australian psychiatry journal published by the Australian and NZ College of Psychiatrists
Archives of general psychiatry - a highly ranked mental health journal
A list of UQ Mental Health Journals
A handbook for the study of mental health : social contexts, theories, and systems 2010 edited by Teresa L. Scheid et al
Browsing the shelves
You can also browse the catalogue or the shelves at the following call numbers:-
BF176 - Psychological testing
HM1106-1171 - Interpersonal relations. Social behavior
RC435-571 - Psychiatry
RC440 - Psychiatric Mental Health Nursing
RC451 - Geriatric Psychiatry
RC455 - Mental Health Services and Ethics
RC480 - Emergency Psychiatry
RC554-569.5 - Personality disorders. Behavior problems including sexual problems, drug abuse, suicide, child abuse
RC564 - Addiction Medicine
DSM-IV-TR : Diagnostic and statistical manual of mental disorders resource
Online counselling resource : a handbook for mental health professionals 2010
Psychiatry Online - books, journals & multimedia on psychiatry, mental health & behavioural sciences from APPI (American Psychiatric Publishing, Inc.)
Internet Mental Health (US) resource
Internet Mental Health is a free encyclopedia of mental health information created by a Canadian psychiatrist, Dr. Phillip Long.
Australian Department of Health and Ageing - Mental Health
Australian Institute of Health and Welfare (AIHW) - Mental Health
Centre for Evidence-Based Mental Health - a UK website focussing on EBM and mental health providing information about trials in which they are involved, an EBM toolkit, information on critical appraisal and a CATmaker
Grieflink - Grieflink is an information resource for the berieved and grieving, their carers, friends and colleagues, and for health and welfare workers
Mental Health Association QLD (MHAQ) - MHAQ provides quality early intervention mental health services and programs that support the community to make mental health connections, develop mental health literacy and participate in employment as a foundation for recovery.
Mental Health Council of Australia - The Mental Health Council of Australia (MHCA) is the peak, national non-government organisation representing and promoting the interests of the Australian mental health sector, committed to achieving better mental health for all Australians.
RANZCP - The Royal Australian and New Zealand College of Psychiatrists