Jump to Navigation

Geographical Sciences

Journal Articles

For recent information, journal articles are often the best sources. Looking through individual journals in the hope of finding relevant material is time-consuming. It is better to use the databases to find articles on your topic.

Journal Articles: 

GEOBASE Covers physical and human geography, geology, mineralogy, ecology, development studies, environmental and green issues.

EVA - Environment abstracts - A bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts articles on the environment and related fields including air pollution and quality, environmental protection and management, hazardous wastes, recycling, waste management and disposal, water pollution, environmental assessment, and pollution control.

Australian natural resources atlas organised by subject and by geographical region. Grouped into 7 themes: coasts, rangelands, water resources, land, people, agriculture and vegetation & biodiversity and includes an interactive mapping tool and a sophisticated searching facility.

REEF includes references to all published and available unpublished material about the Great Barrier Reef, such as coral reef ecology, marine biology, marine park management, oceanography, scuba diving, tourism and zoology.

STREAMLINE : Australia's natural resources database that indexes and abstracts articles from published and unpublished material on all aspects of natural resource management in Australia.

Ozestuaries database : a database developed as part of the National Land and Water Resources Audit (Australia), it includes outputs from other Coastal CRC Projects (Conceptual Models, Indicator Fact Sheets and Online GIS).