Environmental Science
Getting Started
If you are not sure what your topic is about, try one or more of the following:
Encyclopedia of global change : environmental change and human society (2 vols)
Encyclopedia of global environmental change
Earth system physical, biological, causes, responses, socioeconomics (5 vols)
EOLSS - Encyclopedia of life support systems (online)
Encyclopedia of environmental control technology (8 volumes)
Encyclopedia of biodiversity (5 vols)
Encyclopedia of environmental biology (3 vols)
Encyclopedia of the atmospheric environment (online)
Acid rain, air quality, climate change, global warming, ozone depletion, weather.
Encyclopedia of the biosphere (11 vols)
Humans in the world's ecosystems
Journal Articles
For recent information, journal articles are often the best sources. Looking through individual journals in the hope of finding relevant material is time-consuming. It is better to use the databases to find articles on your topic.
Key Databases
AHB - Australian Heritage Bibliography (previously HERA)
Australia's natural and cultural environment - journal articles, unpublished reports, books and conference proceedings from Australian sources.
Biosis indexes the journal literature in experimental, pure and field life sciences and non-clinical literature in the biomedical sciences
Environmental sciences and pollution management collection
Includes databases on aquatic pollution, engineering, safety, toxicology, risk, pollution and ecology
Worldwide coverage of applied life sciences including ecology, natural resources and environment. Indexes 10,000 journals plus books.
Indexes physical and human geography, geology, mineralogy, ecology and development studies. Covers 2,000 international journals in addition to books, monographs, reports, and theses.
Other Databases
Multidisciplinary databases covering experimental and applied science, incorporating Science citation index and Social sciences citation index.
APA FT (Australian Public Affairs - Full Text)
Indexes articles from a wide range of periodicals, newspapers, scholarly journals, conference papers and books on Australian public affairs - see also APA Full Text
Australian agriculture and natural resources online
Streamline - 1982-2004 only, for later see AANRO
Australia's natural resources database
US applied life sciences - including ecology, fisheries, aquaculture, natural resources and environment
World database on protected areas
Foundation dataset for conservation decision making, ecological gap analysis, environmental impact analysis, and is increasingly used for private sector decision-making. It contains crucial information from national governments, non-governmental organizations, academic institutions, international biodiversity convention secretariats
CSI indexes Australian and international journals in consumer health, economics, housing and related matters
ATI (Australian Tourism Index)
ATI covers Australian material on tourism, hospitality from newsletters, journals, reports, unpublished material and government documents. Until 1988 ATI also indexed material on sport and recreation
NTIS - US National Technical Information (via EI Engineering Village)
Both U.S. sponsored and non-U.S. research - engineering, biotechnology, the environment, health & safety, business, as well as the physical, biological, and social sciences
Indexes articles on Australian and NZ architecture and building collected by the Stanton Library, Municipality of North Sydney.
Specialised Resources
Several databases on persistent chemicals
Institute for Sustainable Futures
Solutions that consider the economic, environmental and social dimensions of sustainability
RMI's strategic focus is mapping and driving the business-led transition from fossil fuels to efficiency and renewable energy, with a focus on the transportation, building, industrial and electricity sectors.
Politics and the environment. Breakthrough Institute was founded in 2003 'on the premise that the complaint-based, interest group liberalism born in the 1960s and 1970s was failing to achieve the broad social and ecological transformations America and the world need.'
Web Sites
Key Internet Sites
Australian Natural Resources Atlas
Environment Portal - information from Australian governments
Envirolink Network - environmental news
EarthTrends - The environmental information portal
World Conservation Union (IUCN)
Queensland Environmental Protection Agency
CSIRO Social and Economic Sciences - Sustainability
The Global Biodiversity Information Facility
Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change


Loading