If you are not sure what your topic is about, try one or more of the following:
The Encyclopedia of Life (EOL) began in 2007 with the bold idea to provide "a webpage for every species." EOL brings together trusted information from resources across the world such as museums, learned societies, expert scientists, and others into one massive database and a single, easy-to-use online portal.
For recent information, journal articles are often the best sources. Looking through individual journals in the hope of finding relevant material is time-consuming. It is better to use the databases to find articles on your topic.
Addresses critical gaps in taxonomic knowledge of key Australian animal and plant groups.
Infopest is a comprehensive database of registered Australian chemicals. Previously produced by the Qld Dept of Employment, Economic Development and Innovation (DEEDI), Infopest is now owned and managed by Growcom. Provides accurate, up-to-date information for the effective control of weeds, pests and diseases in a wide range of crops and livestock.
The IPPC develops International Standards for Phytosanitary Measures (ISPMs) for safeguarding plant resources including: procedures and references; pest surveillance, survey and monitoring; import regulations and pest risk analysis; compliance procedures and phytosanitary inspection methodologies; pest management; post entry quarantine; exotic pest emergency response, control and eradication; and export certification. IPPC also provides information exchange related to import and export requirements, pest status and regulated pest lists provided by each member country and Regional Plant Protection Organizations.
See also the option to search across all projects.
Provides linkages between all forms of information about Australian plants, animals and microorganisms. Biodiversity information includes reference lists of species in different groups; databases of information on specimens held in natural history collections; databases of field observations from ecologists, naturalists and others; images and other multimedia; published literature (including digital versions); molecular data sets; identification keys; and a wide range of other databases and web sites.
The Species 2000 & ITIS Catalogue of Life is planned to become a comprehensive catalogue of all known species of organisms on Earth. The eleventh edition of the Annual Checklist, contains 1,370,276 species, slightly over 2/3 of the world's known species.
An online database of animal natural history, distribution, classification, and conservation with student use in mind. It includes thousands of species accounts and descriptions of levels of organization above the species level, especially phyla, classes, and in some cases, orders and families.
The Tree of Life Web Project is a collection of information about biodiversity compiled by expert and amateur contributors. Its goal is to contain a page with pictures, text, and other information for every species and for each group of organisms, living or extinct. Connections between Tree of Life web pages follow phylogenetic branching patterns between groups of organisms, so visitors can browse the hierarchy of life and learn about phylogeny and evolution as well as the characteristics of individual groups.