Jump to Navigation

Earth Sciences

Journal Articles

For recent information, journal articles are often the best sources. Looking through individual journals in the hope of finding relevant material is time-consuming. It is better to use the databases to find articles on your topic.

Journal Articles: 

Geobase

A multidisciplinary bibliographic database covering physical and human geography, geology, mineralogy, ecology and development studies. Interdisciplinary coverage makes it an suitable file for searching environmental and green issues.

GeoRef

This contains world literature in geology and the geosciences. Covers the geology of North America since 1693 and the geology of the rest of the world since 1933. From Nov 2003, includes indexed material from Geoscience Australia. Includes journals, books, dissertations, maps, reports, and most U.S. Geological Survey publications. Accessed via the EI Engineering Village platform.

SciFinder web

Allows access to the full Chemical Abstracts database and the CAS Registry file via the internet. The Chemical Abstracts database contains documents from the literature from 1907 to the present. It covers technical and scientific literature in biochemistry, physical, inorganic, organic, analytical, macromolecular and applied chemistry, as well as chemical engineering. References are in the form of journals, patents, technical reports, dissertations, conference proceedings and books. The CAS Registry file provides access to more than 22 million different specific chemical substances. From these you can access structure diagrams, names, molecular formulae. SciFinder Scholar includes links to Internet resources and access to full-text electronic documents if available.

Scopus

Scopus is a multidisciplinary abstract and citation database of research literature and quality web sources. Subject coverage includes chemistry, physics, mathematics, engineering, life and health sciences, psychology, economics, social sciences, and biological and agricultural sciences.

Web of Science (via Web of Knowledge)

Provides access to current and retrospective multidisciplinary information from high impact research journals. Web of Science also provides a unique search method, cited reference searching.

Journals

Journals: 

AGU (American Geophysical Union) digital archive

AGU digital library provides access nearly 100 years of earth and space sciences research from AGU's journals.

AGU (American Geophysical Union) journals

Includes the titles Geochemistry, geophysics, geosystems, Geophysical research letters, Global biogeochemical cycles, Journal of Geophysical research, Paleoceanography, Radioscience, Reviews of geophysics, Tectonic, Water resources research.

Specialised Resources

Specialised Resources: 

American Mineralogist crystal structure database

An interface to a crystal structure database that includes every structure published in the American Mineralogist, The Canadian Mineralogist, European Journal of Mineralogy and Physics and Chemistry of Minerals, as well as selected datasets from other journals. The database is maintained under the care of the Mineralogical Society of America and the Mineralogical Association of Canada.

CHRONOS

A tool and data portal for geosciences.

Crystallography open database

The Geologic Time Scale

Chronological list of geological periods, linked to a glossary prepared by USGS/Cascades Volcano Observatory.

Geoscience Australia

Geoscience Australia provides high quality geoscientific information.

Map information

How to find maps

Mineralogy database

Minerals yearbook

Produced by the USGS, the Minerals Yearbook is an annual publication that reviews the mineral and material industries of the United States and foreign countries. The Yearbook contains statistical data on materials and minerals and includes information on economic and technical trends and development. The Minerals Yearbook includes chapters on approximately 90 commodities and over 175 countries.

Paleobiology database

Provides global, collection-based occurrence and taxonomic data for marine and terrestrial animals and plants of any geological age, as well as web-based software for statistical analysis of the data.