Dentistry and Oral Health
- Getting Started
- Consumer Health
- Drugs
- Evidence Based Practice
- Journal Articles
- Statistics
- Web Sites
- What's New
Getting Started
If you are not sure what your topic is about, try one or more of the following:
Consumer Health
Consumer information sources
Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality Database for consumers from US Dept of Health and Human Services for consumers from US Dept of Health and Human Services.
MDConsult includes Patient Education materials.
An array of Oral Health Resources can be found at the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) site including consumer level information on preventing cavities, gum disease, and mouth and throat cancer; benefits of water fluoridation, guides for parents on brushing children's teeth.
HealthInsite provides an
Internet gateway to enable consumers to access a wide range of up-to-date and
reliable information on health and wellbeing.
Drugs
Key drug databases include:
Drug e-Resources
Check out the Oral and Dental therapeutic guideline available from the link above.
Australian Medicines Handbook Online
Evidence Based Practice
Evidence-Based Dentistry (EBD)
Bridging the gap between research and dental practice, EBD provides a single source of ground breaking issues in Dentistry. We filter out the best range of evidence from a wide range of sources, presenting clear, comprehensive and easily digestible summaries.
Centre for Evidence-based Dentistry
To provide people interested in Evidence-based dentistry with resources to help them understand the Evidence-based approach, develop their own practice and to provide Evidence-based information on specific dentally related topics.
ADA Center for Evidence-Based Dentistry
"A practical resource for scientific evidence. Looking for answers? We provide systematically assessed evidence as tools and resources to support your clinical decisions: A practical approach to integrating evidence into your patient care!"
View the abstracts of reviews from the Cochrane Oral Health Group Reviews
Find Clinical Guidelines at the National
Institute for Health and Clinical Excellence (NICE)
NICE is an independent organisation responsible for providing national guidance
on promoting good health and preventing and treating ill health.
EBP Tutorials
Evidence based practice - UQ Library
Evidence-Based practice in the Health Sciences
Evidence-Based Practice (EBP) tutorials developed by the Information Services Department of the Library of the Health Sciences-Chicago at the University of Illinois at Chicago. The tutorials are tailored to five health sciences disciplines: Applied Health, Dentistry, Medicine, Nursing, and Pharmacy.
Dental Hygiene- EBP: Ask a clinical question
EPM always begins and ends with the patient. To begin this process, consider the following clinical scenario...
For information on critical appraisal check out the ebook How to read a paper.
Journal Articles
For recent information, journal articles are often the best sources. Looking through individual journals in the hope of finding relevant material is time-consuming. It is better to use the databases to find articles on your topic.
MD Consult integrates peer-reviewed resources from over 50 publishers, medical societies, and government agencies. Includes medical texts, journals, peer-reviewed guidelines, patient handouts and material from yearbooks.
MIMS Online includes Information (including OTC) on Australian prescription and non-prescription drugs. Includes colour product identification pictures.
Cochrane Library provides a source of reliable and up-to-date information on the effects of interventions in health care, designed to provide information and evidence to support decisions taken in health care and to inform those receiving care.
Medline Ovid is the U.S. National Library of Medicine's premier bibliographic database covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the preclinical sciences, health administration, and the health care system. Coverage is worldwide, but most records are from English-language sources or have English abstracts.
PubMed is a service of the National Library of Medicine was developed by the National Center for Biotechnology Information. It includes citations for biomedical articles and provides citations and abstracts to biomedical literature including research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and healthcare services.
EMBASE.com provides access to biomedical and pharmacological bibliographic records from EMBASE and MEDLINE (produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine). The database can be searched by field, drug, disease and article. Journal titles can also be browsed.
Stat!-ref is a healthcare reference source that integrates core titles with evidence-based resources and innovative tools.
Scopus is a multidisciplinary abstract and citation database of research literature and quality web sources. Subject coverage includes chemistry, physics, mathematics, engineering, life and health sciences, psychology, economics, social sciences, and biological and agricultural sciences.
Web of Science provides access to current and retrospective multidisciplinary information from high impact research journals. Web of Science also provides a unique search method, cited reference searching.
Click on the link below for other databases in:
Statistics
Australian Institute of Health & Welfare (AIHW) Australia's national agency for health and welfare statistics and information.
Oral health statistics can be found by searching the Australian Bureau of Statistics (ABS) site
Australian Research Centre for Population Oral Health (ARCPOH) "is Australia's pre-eminent population oral health research body undertaking dental research and providing a broad range of dental and oral health statistics for Australia".
Center for Disease Control and Prevention: FastStats Oral & Dental Health - US data.
Office of National Statistics (UK) includes data on dental health.
World Health Organization - Oral Health Database
Web Sites
Australian Dental Association (ADA) primary aim is "to encourage the improvement of the oral and general health of the public, promote the ethics, art and science of dentistry and support members to provide safe, high quality professional oral care."
Dental Hygienist's Association of Australia provides "supportive leadership, advocacy, education and mentoring seeks to provide a network to encourage and empower dental hygienists to develop lifelong learning through professional development.
Australian Health Practitioner Regulation Agency(AHPRA) brings together the National Boards, including dentistry to regulate practitioners.
Australian Institute of Health and Welfare (AIHW) get the lastest research reports about the health of Australians from this site.
Australian Infection Control (AIC) is the peak national body representing the interests of the specialist practice of infection control within Australia. AICA represents the collaboration between the State and Territory infection control associations in Australia.
Infection control in dental settings : guidelines are updated and revised and developed for dental healthcare personnel.
International Federation of Dental Hygienists (IFDH) "unites dental hygiene associations from around the world in their common cause of promoting dental health.
American Dental Association links you with information about international activities, career opportunities and a host of professional information for the dentist and consumer.
Oral Health Website - QLD Health provides information for the consumer and professional on oral health.
Radiation Protection in Dentistry :Code of practice and safety guide
Medline Plus Health Information - Dental Health a consumer health website dedicated to providing high quality health care information to patients, family and friends.
Martindale's Virtual Dental Center provides links to dental procedures, cases, lectures, videos and images.
What's New
see the Dentistry Library blog, Teeth Talk for up to date information in the fields of Dentistry and Oral Health.
What's new to the UQ Library collections.


Loading