Jump to Navigation

Counselling

Getting Started

If you are not sure what your topic is about, try one or more of the following:

Dictionaries: 

The counseling dictionary : concise definitions of frequently used terms. 2006.

Dictionary of counselling, 2004. online

Browsing the shelves

You can also browse the catalogue or the shelves at the following call numbers:-

BF 1- 900 Psychology

BF1001 - 1389 Parapsychology

HM811 - 821 Deviant behaviour

HM1001 - 1281 Social psychology

HQ1 - 2044 The family, marriage, women, children

HT51 - 1595 Communities, classes, races.

HV1 - 9960 Social psychology, social & public welfare, criminology

QP351 - 495 Neurophysiology & neuropsychology

RC467 Clinical psychology

RC512-569.5 Psychopathology

RC512-528 Psychoses

RC530-552 Neuroses

RC554-569.5 Personality disorders. Behavior problems including sexual problems, drug abuse, suicide, child abuse

RC475-489 Therapeutics. Psychotherapy

RC500-510 Psychoanalysis

RC512-569.5 Psychopathology

Journal Articles

For recent information, journal articles are often the best sources. Looking through individual journals in the hope of finding relevant material is time-consuming. It is better to use the databases to find articles on your topic.

Journal Articles: 

FAMILY - Indexes and abstracts current Australian writing and research on the legal, sociological, psychological, economic & demographic situation of Australian families, children and adults. Covers research, policy & practice issues on subjects such as: child development, adolescence, marriage & divorce, adoption & foster care, child abuse, domestic violence, family law, housing, health policy & services, minority families, population studies, social & community services, child care, family economics, employment & unemployment.

Social Services Abstracts - current research focused on social work, human services& related areas, including social welfare, social policy & community development.

PsycINFO - international literature in psychology & related disciplines. Sourced from professional journals, chapters, books, reports, theses & dissertations.

Medline - citations & abstracts to biomedical literature including research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, & healthcare services.

Web of Knowledge - includes Current Contents - ranging from social & behavioural sciences, life sciences, arts & humanities

Multimedia

Multimedia: 

Counseling and psychotherapy : transcripts, client narratives and reference works - transcripts of actual therapy sessions, together with client narratives and major reference works.

Counseling and therapy in video provides an online collection of video available for the study of social work, psychotherapy, psychology, and psychiatric counseling

Counseling and therapy in video, vol. II - further videos as above.

Web Sites

Web Sites: 

The Australian Counselling Association (ACA) is a National progressive professional peak association of counsellors and psychotherapists.

The Psychotherapy and Counselling Federation of Australia Inc. is a peak body for Member Associations which meet the standards developed by consensus as appropriate for professional practitioners within the disciplines of Counselling and Psychotherapy.

The American Counseling Association is a not-for-profit, professional and educational organization that is dedicated to the growth and enhancement of the counseling profession.

British Association for Counselling & Psychotherapy is the main professional body representing counselling and psychotherapy services in the United Kingdom.

What's New

What's New: 

Health Sciences Blog - keep up to date with UQ Library developments in the Health Sciences.