Computer Science
Getting Started
If you are not sure what your topic is about, try one or more of the following:
Encyclopaedias:
Handbooks:
How-to Guides:
E-Books (Online Books)
Journal Articles
For recent information, journal articles are often the best sources. Looking through individual journals in the hope of finding relevant material is time-consuming. It is better to use the databases to find articles on your topic.
Journal Articles:
Access to all databases is via the Library's Database Page
- ACM Digital
Library
Full text of every article ever published by ACM and bibliographic citations from major publishers in computing. - IEEE Xplore digital
library
Provides full-text access to IEEE and IEE transactions, journals, magazines and conference proceedings published since 1988 and current IEEE Standards. - Inspec
Provides access to the world's scientific literature in electrical engineering, electronics, physics, control engineering, information technology, communications, computers, computing, and manufacturing and production engineering. - Scopus
Multidisciplinary abstract and citation database of research literature and quality web sources. - Web of
Science
Access to current and retrospective multidisciplinary information from high impact research journals. Web of Science also provides a unique search method, cited reference searching.
Specialised Resources
Specialised Resources:
Additional Resources
- CiteSeer.IST - a scientific literature digital library and search engine that focuses primarily on the literature in computer and information science
- Computing Research Repository - arXiv
- Knovel - integrating technical information with analytical and search tool
- Lecture notes in computer science online - including the subseries: Lecture notes in artificial intelligence, and, Lecture notes in bioinformatics
- Safari tech books online
- SPIE digital library - extensive resource on optics and photonics
- Synthesis digital library of engineering and computer science
Patents
- Derwent Innovations Index
- eSpacenet -
Europe's network of patent databases
For further information see our Patents How-to guide
Theses
Standards
Standards:
- SAI Global on-line
premium
Full-text access to all current Australian standards - IEEE xplore digital
library
Full-text access to IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronic Engineers) standards - Annual book of ASTM standards
For further information see our Standards How-to guide
Web Sites
Web Sites:
What's New
What's New:


Loading