If you are not sure what your topic is about, try one or more of the following:
- ENGnetBASE - online engineering handbooks published by CRC Press
- Knovel - online engineering books
- ICE Virtual Library - full archive of the Institution of Civil Engineers
- Springer ebook collection - more online engineering books
Browse the Shelves:
You can also browse the Catalogue or the shelves at the following call numbers:
TA - Engineering (General). Civil engineering
TC - Hydraulic engineering. Ocean engineering
TD - Environmental technology. Sanitary engineering
TE - Highway engineering. Roads and pavements
TF - Railroad engineering and operation
TG - Bridge engineering
TH - Building construction
For recent information, journal articles are often the best sources. Looking through individual journals in the hope of finding relevant material is time-consuming. It is better to use the databases to find articles on your topic.
Scopus is a multidisciplinary abstract and citation database of research literature and quality web sources.
Citations with abstracts to worldwide literature in engineering and technology.
Full archive of the Institution of Civil Engineers back to 1836, including journals and books.
Full-text access to papers from published ASCE Journals and Proceedings.
Designed to provide easy bibliographic access to all ASCE publications, this database covers ASCE documents published since 1973.
ATRI is produced by the Australian Road Research Board and provides information on roads and road related material. It includes all ARRB publications, and relevant Australian journal articles, reports, monographs, theses and conference papers.
Provides access to current and retrospective multidisciplinary information from high impact research journals. Web of Science also provides a unique search method, cited reference searching.
Key journals in Civil Engineering (from Journal Citation Reports rankings)
- Journal of hazardous materials
- IEEE transactions on intelligent transport systems
- Computer aided civil and infrastructure engineering
- Transportation research. part B, Methodological
- Journal of hydrology
- Energy and buildings
- Journal of civil engineering and management
- Water resources management
- Computers and structures
- Structural safety
- Journal title abbreviations and acronyms
- Ulrichsweb (determining the status of a journal e.g. whether a given title is a trade publication, peer reviewed etc.)
This database merges patent information from Derwent World Patents Index with patent citation information from the Derwent Patents Citation Index.
The U.S. federal agency for granting patents and registering trademarks.
Espacenet - Europe's network of patent databases
Espacenet offers free access to more than 70 million patent documents worldwide, containing information about inventions and technical developments from 1836 to today.
SAI Global on-line premium (Australian and selected international standards)
Search for Australian Standards by Standard number or keyword. Full text standards are in PDF format.
The 80+ volume Annual Book of ASTM Standards contains ASTM International's 12,000+ standards
The National Construction Code of Australia is maintained by the Australian Building Codes Board
Further information about standards and how to find them
The American Concrete Institute is advancing concrete knowledge by conducting seminars, managing certification programs, and publishing technical documents.
ASCE represents more than 140,000 members of the civil engineering profession worldwide and is America's oldest national engineering society.
Formerly known as the Australian Road Research Board the ARRB Group has over 50 years experience in research and consulting, and is the trusted advisor to state, territory and federal government road agencies in Australia for technical input and solutions.
AWA is Australia's leading membership association for water professionals and organisations. Independent and not for profit AWA plays an important role in supporting the Australian water sector in the delivery of effective and sustainable water management practices.
The Centre contributes to integrated and sustainable transport by undertaking research, providing professional development, collating transport related data, providing contract research and consulting services and developing policies in transport strategy.
IAHR, founded in 1935, is a worldwide independent organisation of engineers and water specialists working in fields related to the hydro-environmental sciences and their practical application.
The ICE was founded in 1818 in Britain to "foster and promote the art and science of civil engineering". Today it is a centre for the exchange of specialist knowledge, and a provider of resources to encourage innovation and excellence in the profession worldwide.
A database developed byThe Cooperative Research Centre (CRC) for Rail Innovation which offers a managed online resource for the rail industry.
An online searchable database of road-related research activities in Australia and New Zealand, currently containing over 1800 records of current and completed initiatives. The majority of records relate to the activities of Austroads and member organisations, however there is a growing number of records from other bodies and individual higher degree students.
The American Iron and Steel Institute's Mission is to influence public policy, educate and shape public opinion in support of a strong, sustainable U.S. and North American steel industry.
Aims to promote research and exchange of knowledge in the transport sector. In particular, TRA provides education, training and consulting services in the specialist areas of transport strategy, policy, management and operations including intelligent transport systems.