Chemical Engineering
Getting Started
If you are not sure what your topic is about, try one or more of the following:
- Kirk-Othmer encyclopedia of chemical technology
- Ullmann's encyclopedia of industrial chemistry
- Encyclopedia of chemical processing and design
- Encyclopedia of polymer science and technology
- Polymeric materials encyclopedia
- Water encyclopedia
- Encyclopedia of chemical sciences engineering and technology resources - choose "access for institutions"
- Perry's chemical engineers' handbook (print)
- Perry's chemical engineers' handbook (online)
- CRC handbook of chemistry and physics
- ENGnetBASE - online engineering handbooks published by CRC Press
- Handbook of nanophase and nanostructured materials
- SpringerMaterials - based on the Landolt-Börnstein New Series, a data collection covering all areas of physical sciences and engineering
- Knovel - online reference library for engineering. Access equations, data, drawings, etc. that are found in engineering handbooks and manuals.
E-Books (Online Books)
Journal Articles
For recent information, journal articles are often the best sources. Looking through individual journals in the hope of finding relevant material is time-consuming. It is better to use the databases to find articles on your topic.
Summon (Library homepage) provides access to the UQ Library collection of print and online books, journals, theses, newspapers, conference proceedings and more.
Specialised research databases:
- Compendex
Citations with abstracts to worldwide literature in engineering and technology. - Chemical
engineering reference user bibliography (CHERUB)
CHERUB is a bibliographic reference source to the chemical engineering literature, including general and specialist topicS. 1956 - - IEEE Xplore digital
library
Provides full-text access to IEEE and IEE transactions, journals, magazines and conference proceedings published since 1988 and current IEEE Standards. - Pubmed
Includes citations for biomedical articles and provides citations and abstracts to biomedical literature including research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and healthcare services. - Reaxys
Includes: Beilstein -- Gmelin -- MDL patent chemistry database - ScienceDirect - covers full-text journal such as Current Opinion in Biotechnology and Trends in biotechnology.
- SciFinder
Access the CAS databases that contain literature from many scientific disciplines including biomedical sciences, chemistry, engineering, materials science, agricultural science, and more. - Scopus
Abstract and citation database of research literature and quality web sources. - Web of
Science
Access to current and retrospective multidisciplinary information from high impact research journals. Web of Science also provides a unique search method, cited reference searching.
Access to all databases for Chemical Engineering.
Specialised Resources
Additional Resources
- IBISWorld - marketing research: Australian industries, covering major players, industry performance and outlook.
- Knovel - integrating technical information with analytical and search tool
- OnePetro - access a broad range of technical literature related to the oil and gas exploration and production industry
Chemical Prices
- ICIS dedicated hub page for students and academics
- Business Source Complete
- ICIS Chemical Business (via Business Source Premier)
- Factiva
- SciFinder - to find a list of suppliers search for the chemical name under 'Explore Substances'.
Minerals Information
- USGS Commodity Statistics and Information - statistics and information on the worldwide supply of, demand for, and flow of minerals and materials
- Australian Bureau of Agricultural and Resource Economics and Sciences (ABARES) Data - resources and energy sectors
Standards
- SAI Global on-line
premium
Full-text access to all current Australian standards - IEEE xplore digital
library
Full-text access to IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronic Engineers) standards - Annual book of ASTM standards
For further information see our Standards How-to guide
Tables, Formulas
- International tables for crystallography (IUCR)
- Knovel - online reference library for engineering. Access equations, data, drawings, etc. that are found in engineering handbooks and manuals
- SpringerMaterials - based on the Landolt-Börnstein New Series, a data collection covering all areas of physical sciences and engineering
Web Sites
Journal information
- All that jas: abbreviations Acronyms & Abbreviations Resource
- CAS Source Index (CASSI) Search Tool confirm journal titles and abbreviations for publications indexed by CAS since 1907
- Ulrichsweb source for determining the status of a title eg. whether a given title is a trade publication, peer reviewed etc.
Chemistry
- Chemgold III UQ searchable chemicals database
- ChemSpider (free chemical structure database)
Chemical Engineering
- Institute of Chemical Engineers
(IChemE)
The global professional membership organisation for people who have an interest in and relevant experience in chemical engineering. - Engineers Australia


Loading