Botany
Getting Started
If you are not sure what your topic is about, try one or more of the following:
The Encyclopedia of Life (EOL) began in 2007 with the bold idea to provide "a webpage for every species." EOL brings together trusted information from resources across the world such as museums, learned societies, expert scientists, and others into one massive database and a single, easy-to-use online portal.
Encyclopaedia of Australian plants: suitable for cultivation
Botanica : the illustrated A-Z of over 10,000 garden plants
A dictionary of plant sciences
Dictionary of plant genetics and molecular biology
The plant-book : a portable dictionary of the vascular plants (3rd ed.) (Mabberley)
The new Royal Horticultural Society dictionary of gardening
Plant names : a guide to botanical nomenclature
The Penguin dictionary of plant sciences
Journal Articles
For recent information, journal articles are often the best sources. Looking through individual journals in the hope of finding relevant material is time-consuming. It is better to use the databases to find articles on your topic.
Specialised Resources
Australian Plant Phenomics Facility
The APPF is a national facility, available to all Australian plant scientists, offering access to infrastructure that is not available at this scale or breadth in the public sectors anywhere else in the world. The APPF is based around automated image analysis of the phenotypic characteristics of extensive germplasm collections and large breeding, mapping and mutant populations.
PhytoChem Australia resource : a database on Australian plant chemistry 1940-2000
Web Sites
Provides linkages between all forms of information about Australian plants, animals and microorganisms. Biodiversity information includes reference lists of species in different groups; databases of information on specimens held in natural history collections; databases of field observations from ecologists, naturalists and others; images and other multimedia; published literature (including digital versions); molecular data sets; identification keys; and a wide range of other databases and web sites.
The Species 2000 & ITIS Catalogue of Life is planned to become a comprehensive catalogue of all known species of organisms on Earth. The eleventh edition of the Annual Checklist, contains 1,370,276 species, slightly over 2/3 of the world's known species.
Australian government - Environment Home
ePIC - Kew Electronic Plant Information Centre (incorporating Index Kewensis)
Index Nominum Genericorum (Plantarum)
The Tree of Life Web Project is a collection of information about biodiversity compiled by expert and amateur contributors. Its goal is to contain a page with pictures, text, and other information for every species and for each group of organisms, living or extinct. Connections between Tree of Life web pages follow phylogenetic branching patterns between groups of organisms, so visitors can browse the hierarchy of life and learn about phylogeny and evolution as well as the characteristics of individual groups.


Loading