Jump to Navigation

Bioinformatics

Journal Articles

For recent information, journal articles are often the best sources. Looking through individual journals in the hope of finding relevant material is time-consuming. It is better to use the databases to find articles on your topic.

Journal Articles: 
Key Databases:

Web of Science

Provides access to ISI citation databases including Science citation index

SciFinder Scholar

Covers journal literature and chemical name registry. Biochemistry, physical, inorganic, organic, analytical, macromolecular and applied chemistry, as well as chemical engineering. The CAS Registry file provides access to specific chemical substances, including diagrams, names, molecular formulae

Biosis Previews

Biosis indexes the journal literature in experimental, pure and field life sciences and non-clinical literature in the biomedical sciences

Medline

Covers research and clinical literature in human and veterinary medicine

Derwent Innovations Index

Merges patent information from Derwent World Patents Index with patent citation information from the Derwent Patents Citation Index

ASFA Marine Biotechnology Abstracts

Marine biotechnology, molecular biology and molecular genetics as applied to marine and aquatic organisms

Other Databases:

Specialised Resources

Specialised Resources: 

For some topics you will need to consult specialist information sources.

Bioplatforms Australia

Bioplatforms Australia provides services and scientific infrastructure in the specialist fields of genomics, proteomics, metabolomics and bioinformatics. It supports Australian life science research with crucial investments in state-of-the-art technologies and cutting edge expertise.

GenBank at NCBI

GenBank, the NIH genetic sequence database, has an annotated collection of all publicly available DNA sequences.

EMBL Nucleotide at EBI

Constitutes Europe's primary nucleotide sequence resource.

DNA Data Bank of Japan at CIB

DDBJ is the sole DNA data bank in Japan, which is officially certified to collect DNA sequences from researchers and to issue the internationally recognized accession number to data submitters.

Ensembl - human genome server

Ensembl presents up-to-date sequence data and the best possible automatic annotation for eukaryotic genomes. It is a joint project between EBI and the Sanger Institute.

RCSB PDB - Protein Data Bank

The PDB archive contains information about experimentally-determined structures of proteins, nucleic acids, and complex assemblies.

BMC Bioinformatics

A BioMed Central open access journal

BMC Genomics

An BioMed Central open access journal

PLoS Computational Biology

A Public Library of Science open access journal