[Click on the image to enlarge]
 
Getting Started
 
Facilities
 
Collections
 
Services
 
 

 About Us

PAH
PAH Information Desk

The Joint Princess Alexandra Hospital/UQ Library is one of the 14 branch libraries of the University of Queensland. It provides resources and services to support the clinical teaching, learning and research needs of staff and students in the Faculty of Health Sciences, the Diamantina Institute for Cancer, Immunology and Metabolic Medicine and the staff of the hospital. The University and Hospital jointly fund the Library.

The Joint Princess Alexandra Hospital/UQ Library is located on the ground floor of the hospital beside the water court. It was established in 1969 as a medical library and amalgamated with the Nursing Library in 1999.

The Joint Princess Alexandra Hospital/UQ Library collection provides teaching, learning and research materials in various formats for onsite use, access and loan. Strengths include: Dermatology, Internal Medicine, Infectious Diseases, Gastroenterology, Ophthalmology, Pathology, Psychiatry, Radiology, Surgery, Kidney and Liver Transplants, Spinal Injuries, Nursing.

The on-site collection includes:

  • 6,500 books
  • approximatley 100 videos and multimedia.
  • over 150 current print journal titles.

Links to electronic resources are provided via the Library's website. Hospital staff are able to link directly to the electronic journals, books and databases provided for their use by selecting the "Services For" tab and then "Herston Mater PAH Staff".

There are 36 public computers providing access to:

  • Library website
  • Email
  • Internet
  • Networked printing and copying
  • Online course materials
  • Software - Word, Powerpoint, Excel, Access and Endnote
  • UQ network.

Five specialist libraries complement the Joint Princess Alexandra Hospital/UQ Library collection:


 Contact Us

General Enquiries
Email: pahi@library.uq.edu.au
Phone: +61 7 3240 2571


Loans Enquiries
Email: circ@library.uq.edu.au
Phone: +61 7 3240 2571


Fax     +61 7 3240 5222

Building number
1, Princess Alexandra Hospital campus

Postal address
Library,
Ground Floor Building 1,
Princess Alexandra Hospital,
Ipswich Rd,
Woolloongabba QLD 4102



Executive Manager, Engineering and Sciences Library Service
(located in Biological Sciences Library)
Heather Todd
Email: h.todd@library.uq.edu.au
Phone: 3346 4394



Manager, Health Sciences Library Service
(located in Herston Health Sciences Library)
Lisa Kruesi
Email: l.kruesi@library.uq.edu.au
Phone: 3365 5354



Manager, Joint Princess Alexandra Hospital/UQ Library
Ms Nicola Foxlee
Email: n.foxlee@library.uq.edu.au
Phone: 3240 6551


Liaison LibrariansArea(s) of responsibility
 
Christine Dalais
   Email: c.dalais@library.uq.edu.au
   Phone: 3240 5350
     
Nursing - PAH  
Princess Alexandra Hospital  
 
Jill McTaggart
   Email: j.mctaggart@library.uq.edu.au
   Phone: 3240 2571
   Wed(am), Thu and Fri.  
Centre for Immunology & Cancer Research  
MBBS Programme Year 3  
Medicine (Southern Clinical Division) - PAH  

Location and Layout

The Joint Princess Alexandra Hospital/UQ Library is located at the Princess Alexandra Hospital, Ipswich Road, Woolloongabba. The Library is on the ground floor beside the water court.

All services and facilities are on one level. This level contains the return chute, combined loans and information desk, main computer area with networked printers, the eZone with 12 workstations and 2 hospital computers, reference and video collections, book and journal collections, three group study rooms, new book and periodical display area, internal hospital telephone, photocopier and the staff work area. Access to the Library catalogue, databases, Internet, word processing and email is available from the computers. There are a variety of study areas for group and individual study including six lockable desks.



Opening Hours

Semester Opening Hours
Mon. Tues. Wed. Thurs. Fri. Sat. Sun.
Monday: 8.30am - 6.30pm ; Tuesday: 8.30am - 6.30pm ; Wednesday: 8.30am - 6.30pm ; Thursday: 8.30am - 6.30pm ; Friday: 8.30am - 5pm ; Saturday: 9am - 1pm ; Sunday: Closed
For recorded opening hours - telephone (07) 3365 6703.

Other branch opening hours are available from the Library website.

Book returns

The loan returns chute is located near the entrance of the Library.

 


Computers and Email

The Joint Princess Alexandra Hospital/UQ Library provides 36 computers for accessing the Library website including the catalogue, databases, and the internet. Email facilites are also available.

 


Study Areas

There are individual and group study areas available and three group rooms. Bookings for the group rooms can be made electronically via the Library Homepage, in person at the Loans Desk or by phoning 3240 2571.


General Collections

Over 6,500 books, 150 current journal subscriptions and approximately 100 videos and multimedia are held in the Joint Princess Alexandra Hospital/UQ Library.

The strengths of the Joint Princess Alexandra Hospital/UQ Library include dermatology, internal medicine, infectious diseases, gastroenterology, ophthalmology, pathology, psychiatry, radiology, spinal injuries, surgery, nursing and kidney and liver transplants.

For further information, see the Joint Princess Alexandra Hospital/UQ Library's Collection Development Policy.


Suggest a Purchase

Members of the University of Queensland Library may suggest items to be added to the Library's collection.

Schools and Centres may also contact their Liaison Librarian, to make a suggestion for purchase.


What's New

New print material is displayed in the Recently Received Books and Journals area of the Princess Alexandra Hospital/UQ Library.

A list of new material is available on the Library website.


On-Site Services

Information and research assistance

Loans assistance

Research and information-access workshops for all students and staff

Document delivery and alerting services for staff and postgraduate students.

Access to Ask a Librarian online reference service

UQ students can use the Ask IT computing help and training service.


Disability Support

The library is wheelchair accessible.

Library staff will provide any additional assistance.

More information can be found at Support for Users with Disabilities.


Loan Enquiries and Pickups

Enquiries about loans, problems with library records and requests for items held at another campus library can be made at the Loans Desk. Held items and items requested from the warehouse or other libraries are also held at the Loans desk.


Lost Property

Lost property is held for several weeks at the Loans Desk and is then given to Princess Alexandra Hospital Trust Office. Phone 3240 2126


Printing and Copying

The Joint Princess Alexandra Hospital/UQ Library provides copying facilities and network printing.

All copying is subject to copyright restrictions.

A University of Queensland student, staff card or a Unicard is required to operate the photocopiers.

There is an automatic card dispensing machine where copy cards can be purchased and value added to existing cards. Change is not available in the Library.


Multimedia

Television programs useful for teaching, learning and research are copied and placed into the Library's collection. The Library also works closely with the Central Video Replay Service (CVRS).

Visit the Multimedia Service for more information.